Put yourself last

There was arguing on the car ride home the other night, but what else is new?!  It was just my 5 year old Evan and his 4 year old friend on our way home from VBS.  Never fails, someone is ALWAYS fighting after church, funny how that always happens. 😐 Sinners from birth, so true!

Evan was upset because his friend sat in the middle and HE wanted to sit in the middle.  After we dropped her off, since it was just the two of us plus my newborn I took the time to tell them that he should put others before himself, that’s what God wants him to do.  He argued, “but mommy I wanted the middle seat, everybody else gets what they want why can’t I get what I want”. I continued to tell him that Jesus says we should put others first and put ourselves last. That I know it’s hard and may not make sense now but when we get to heaven God won’t ask us about what other people did, He will only ask us what WE did.

image

Knowing this can be hard for a 5 year old to comprehend, I just hope that our talks like this stick with him as he grows older. And this will be just one of many talks that we have about what the world says vs what God says. Living in today’s age, “opposite world” as I like to call it, can be so confusing to our littles.  But we must continue to hold fast to God’s unchanging word and know that the seeds we plant will one day flourish.

That example kind of puts it into perspective for me how hard it is for us to follow Christ’s example when the world is telling us the opposite. And also why Jesus says we must “humble ourselves like little children” Matt 18:4. 

The world says do you, get yours, be first…but God says put yourself last, put others first, lay down your life.

Are you living as God commands or as the world commands?

One thought on “Put yourself last

  1. I didn’t even know you had a blog. I found your blog from seeing where you had commented on Ruth’s first blog post, so I clicked your pic and was led here. This is lovely. I like the name of your blog, “Mission Minded Mama”. This post is very encouraging and it is something I was just thinking about before I came on here. Christ told us if we want to be His disciples we have to deny ourselves, take up our cross and follow Him. We live in a very anti self-denial world so it’s only through putting on the mind of Christ that we are able to faithfully deny ourselves, take up our crosses and follow Him. God Bless you. I enjoyed reading this lovely post of your. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

